UAE chief designates his son as crown prince Lalrp



DUBAI, United Arab Emirates — Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, the president of the United Arab Emirates, appointed his eldest son Khaled as crown prince of Abu Dhabi on Wednesday, inserting him as subsequent in line to take over because the chief of the federation.

The state-run WAM information company introduced the appointment of Sheikh Khaled bin Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan as crown prince late Wednesday, with out offering additional particulars.

After Sheikh Mohammed, who is usually often called MBZ, ascended to the presidency final yr, rumors swirled about whether or not he would make certainly one of his brothers his inheritor.

In that case, the front-runners would have been Sheikh Tahnoun bin Zayed, the highly effective nationwide safety chief, Sheikh Mansour, the proprietor of the Manchester Metropolis soccer membership, or the international minister, Sheikh Abdullah.

Sheikh Khaled was appointed chairman of the nation’s intelligence company in 2016.

The United Arab Emirates, a detailed U.S. ally, is finest often called the house of Dubai, a significant worldwide hub for enterprise and journey.

Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, the primary president of the UAE and the driving drive behind its creation, dominated from 1971 till his dying in 2004. He appointed his eldest son Khalifa as his successor and MBZ as deputy crown prince.

Sheikh Mohammed has been the nation’s de facto chief since Sheikh Khalifa suffered a stroke in 2014. Sheikh Khalifa died eight years later, in Might 2022.

Throughout Sheikh Mohammed’s rule, the UAE cultivated shut ties with neighboring Saudi Arabia, initially becoming a member of it in its conflict towards Yemen’s Iran-backed Houthi rebels earlier than exiting the battle years later. The UAE has sought to challenge navy energy throughout the area because it has opposed the rise of Islamist teams.

In 2020, the UAE normalized relations with Israel within the first of the so-called Abraham Accords, adopted by Bahrain, Morocco and Sudan.