Kidjo, Blackwell, Pärt awarded Sweden’s Polar Music Prize Lalrp



STOCKHOLM — 5-time Grammy Award winner Angélique Kidjo, Island Information founder Chris Blackwell and Estonian composer Arvo Pärt have gained the 2023 Polar Music Prize, a Swedish music award.

The three “all made such a worldwide influence with their music,” Marie Ledin, managing director of the annual prize, mentioned in saying the winners on Tuesday.

Blackwell, 85, whose unbiased label began in Jamaica and signed artists corresponding to Bob Marley, Cat Stevens, Roxy Music, Tom Waits, Grace Jones and Marianne Devoted, made Island one “of probably the most profitable labels in music historical past,” Ledin mentioned in a press release.

The award committee mentioned that Kidjo’s “placing voice, stage presence and fluency in a number of cultures and languages has gained respect from her friends.” The 62-year-old singer-songwriter has combined the West African traditions of her childhood in Benin with parts of American R&B, funk and jazz, in addition to influences from Europe and Latin America.

Ledin described Pärt who’s 87, as “probably the most unimaginable composers the world has ever seen, and his stunning music has touched audiences across the globe.” She famous that his tintinnabuli, a composition fashion that Pärt invented in 1976, “has deeply affected the course of music over a number of many years.”

“His works have reached an enormous variety of listeners, not solely through live shows and recordings but additionally by means of movies and theatrical productions,” she mentioned.

The Polar Music Prize is awarded yearly to people, teams and establishments in recognition of outstanding music achievements. It features a money award of 600,000 kronor ($57,700) every. An awards ceremony is scheduled for Could 23 in Stockholm.

Stig Anderson, the late Swedish music producer, lyricist and ABBA supervisor, established the award in 1989. The prize shares a reputation with the file label Anderson began. Polar Music.

Earlier recipients embrace Icelandic singer Bjork, Paul McCartney, Peter Gabriel, Chuck Berry, Ennio Morricone, Led Zeppelin, Stevie Surprise, Paul Simon, Joni Mitchell, Elton John, Iggy Pop, Ravi Shankar, Renée Fleming and Miriam Makeba.